Floyd Rose: New Interview | Guitarist Magazine | MusicRadar.com

Was there any other player at the time that had a hand in increasing the trem’s profile?

“Well, there was [Journey guitarist] Neal Schon… I would sell these by going to big concerts and I would get backstage,” Floyd says. “I learned real quick that if I asked to speak to anyone from the band, you didn’t get anywhere, so I asked to speak to the guitar tech for the guy and of course he’s all excited. So I would show them first and they would show the artist, and that’s how I got in.

“Neal saw it and wanted one put on his Les Paul, and he gave me one that he said he’d never liked the sound of. I brought it back to him and it became one of his favourites as I’d taken so much wood out of it the sound had changed.

via Floyd Rose: New Interview | Guitarist Magazine | MusicRadar.com.

Leave a Reply

