Paul Liberatore: Journey rocker Cain makes a new home in Nashville – Marin Independent Journal

After 30 years in Marin County, Jonathan Cain, the longtime keyboard player for the supergroup Journey, has packed up his family and quietly moved to Nashville, country’s Music City.

Jonathan just turned 60 this year, and sounds like a man who has enjoyed his time here, but at this point in his life he’s fed up with the frantic Marin scene – the traffic, the high prices and rising taxes, the hyper-busy lifestyles, the sense of entitlement and competition, the pot holes in Mill Valley.

“I just feel like it’s a slower, gentler pace in Nashville, and as I get older that’s fine with me,” he said. “It’s a lot less dog-eat-dog than California. They actually throw welcoming parties for you. My wife and I were invited to several. That doesn’t happen in Marin.”

After tirelessly volunteering his talents for the benefit of Novato’s Pleasant Valley Elementary School, he didn’twant to have to now watch his three teenagers compete to get into Marin’s exclusive private high schools, and possibly suffer the disappointment of being rejected.

“My kids really matter to me, and I want them to have a shot, but I just don’t think they’ll have that shot in Marin,” he said. “I don’t like the way the schools are going. There’s too much competition. That’s kind of why I’m moving.”

Cain is from Chicago and still speaks with a slight Midwestern accent. He has positive associations with Nashville, beginning his career there with Dial Records in the late ’60s.

via Paul Liberatore: Journey rocker Cain makes a new home in Nashville – Marin Independent Journal.

Leave a Reply

