5. From Weird to Weirder « Audrey Owen

5. From Weird to Weirder

Posted by Audrey Owen on April 1, 2010

.

When Dr. Poirier finished his story, I just sat there for a little while. He didn’t press for a response, which was just as well because I didn’t have one.

I could have stood up and walked out. Or called him a liar to his face. I could have gotten all upset and told him off for wasting my time. But I’ll be honest, I stayed because I was impressed.

“That is a great story. No, truly, it’s very clever! It’s improbable but not impossible… as long as I forget how ridiculous it is to think that even the best impersonator could truly pass for Steve Perry, even for Steve Perry’s on a bad night. And even if he could sound like him, it’s equally absurd to think that he would look enough like him to fool… well, he’d have to fool everyone, right?”

The doctor paused, turned his head and looked back out the window for a moment.

“Ms. Owen… do you remember when we started this conversation, and I told you that you would doubt my sanity?”

“Yes sir, I do remember that, and I must say that I am beginning to…”

He turned back and smiled, “Well, hold that thought. The most important part is still to come, but we’ll need to back up, all the way back to Pieces.”

“What the heck is ‘Pieces’?”

Continuation via:  5. From Weird to Weirder « Audrey Owen.

Leave a Reply

