Steve Perry Acknowledges Current Journey’s Success – Sent a Personal Message During the Oprah Winfrey Show

Arnel Pineda is now the lead singer of Journey.

In 2007, Neal, Journey’s lead guitarist, came across the video of Arnel. He watched in amazement as this young man from the Philippines performed “Faithfully,” one of Journey’s biggest hits, with the same passion and intensity as Steve Perry.

“I stumbled upon Arnel like in the eleventh hour when I was ready to give up,” Neal says. “And I went, ‘Wow.'”

The other members of the band agreed to fly Arnel to Los Angeles for an audition. “From the first point that I heard [him] until he came over not long afterward to audition with us, we’ve had what I call GBS—goose bump surplus,” says Ross, the band’s bass player.

After years of searching, Journey finally found its new lead singer. Not only has Arnel perfected that Steve Perry sound, he’s also reignited the soul of a band whose journey had stalled.

Arnel gives all the credit to his mother, a woman who believed in him long before he believed in himself. “I think it’s her voice that carried me all through this pain that I’ve gone through,” he says. “She’s always been my biggest influence.”

A Message from Steve Perry:

In a statement sent to Oprah Show producers, Steve wishes the band well. “Though we’ve gone our separate ways, I will be forever grateful for our time together…the music we created…and our faithful fans,” he writes. “Continued success to all of you.”

via Journey’s New Lead Singer- Arnel Pineda – Oprah.com.

9 Responses

  1. I love Steve. I agree with all the comments, he is so humble and classy. Never said anything harmful about journey. Love this man, and yes he is still gorgeous at 60! Those lips!

  2. We love Steve Perry and Journey in Detroit, Michigan too!

  3. We love Steve Perry and Journey in Detroit, Michigan too! And, look forward to hear from you….

  4. The performance was at cobo hall (via) Joe louis Arena
    so long ago

  5. Hi! I am also an artist (singer and percusionist) I met you in Detroit, Mi. At the time i was with a church choir
    nearly 110 members. You and Journey were in concert in another concert hall. And, even though I was not supoed to sing this type of music, my rehearsal in the hall in this moment, was the song “faithfully”.
    I heard your band on stage and started to sing…even my choir said Wow! I saw you and the other members come out of the auditorium and you gave me a nice compliment.
    Although I could not respond, I have alway’s admired you’re voice and I hope it is not the last we ( or I) will hear of your wonderful voice.

  6. We’re glad Steve Perry is commenting about anything because it is just an honor to hear what he’s thinking nowadays! We love Steve Perry so much that we created a dedication website for him & his fans! Please visit:

    TheOtherMrsPerry.com

  7. This is another reason why I love Mr Perry so much, he is such a humble.talented,wonderful person. Though Journey has moved on there will be nobody in my heart more deserving, more loved, then the voice himself. I cant wait for the new album and hopefully a tour. Mr Perry please come to Madison Square Garden because you will be filling it up night after night!!!God bless you!!!

  8. And the message from Steve Perry once again shows what a class act he is! He always behaves like a gentleman about the band in interviews-unlike Schon who says things like ‘f–k’ him in the GQ interview. To behave gracefully, even considering the history of how he was essentially forced from the band because they wouldn’t wait for him to resolve his health problems after Trial by Fire was recorded-Bravo, Steve Perry, for showing the members of Journey how a real professional behaves. Now, can we PLEASE have the album that half the sites on the internet says you are recording!

Leave a Reply

