One from the vault – 2005 Neal Schon Interview

Eric Clapton was a fan of Carlos and the band, and while I was jamming with them at the Wally Heider Studio in Berkeley, Eric dropped by. This was before I joined Santana. That night we met again and jammed some more. Eric said, “Goodnight,” to everyone and the next morning I had this note from Eric saying he wanted me to sit in with him. Later that day he asked me to join his band, Derek and the Dominos.

That was the day before Carlos asked me to join him, and, as you know, I went with Carlos.

I was hired as a side man and earned low wages. But, as a kid the money was more than I’d ever made before and so I was fine.

via Neal Schon Interview.

Leave a Reply

